The 2019 Spring Foggy Bottom Cruisin’ Car Show on the Square in Elba, was a huge success Saturday, March 2, by any measuring stick. The car owners enjoyed showing off their vehicles and talking with other like-minded car enthusiasts and with the area citizens who turned out to view the vehicles. Sponsors reported there were 110 vehicles entered into the show and contending for a trophy. The event also raised over $2,000 for the Elba Public Library. There was a variety of categories including the ‘Peoples Choice’ and ‘Best of Show’ in both the car and truck groups. Best in Show for cars was L. B. Peveyhouse, of Troy, Ala., with his restored 1957 Belair Chevrolet. Putting on the successful show involved 26 people directly and an untold number of others who pitched in at odd times. Leading up the group was Kenneth Calhoun, Lee Strickland and Larry Goodson. 1900-1948 Custom Cars was won by Thomas Jacoby with his 1937 Chevy Sedan. In second place was Clyde Hollis with a 1939 Nash and Ronald Kennedy was third with his 1934 Buick Coupe. 1949-1974 Classic Cards was won by L.B. Peavy House and his 1957 BelAir Chevrolet. Second place went to Debbie Moseley and her 1967 Chevelle while Danny Strickland was third with a 1972 AMC Javelin. The 1949 – 1974 Custom Car winner was Thomas Ray with his 1969 Camaro while Bonzo won second with a 1955 210 Handyman (Chevrolet). Ed and Petra Younger won third with third 1967 Mercury Cougar 1975-1990 Classic Cars was won by Greg Herring and his 1978 Corvette. John Davis won second with his 1989 Cavalier while Floyd Bryant came in third with a 1987 Monte Carlo. 1975-1990 Custom Cars was won by Dan Adkins Jr with a 1983 El Camino. 1991-Current saw Kevin McHugh win with his 1996 Dodge Truck. Mike Bullard was second with his 2013 Camaro followed by Greg Prettyman and his 2001 Corvette. 1991 Current Car Classic was won by Whitt Floyd and his 2008 Mustang. That was followed by Freddie Newman and a 2017 Corvette and third was Ginger McClay and her 2004 Mustang. 1900 – 1972 Classic Truck was won by a 1972 C-10 Chevrolet owned by Chad Reynolds. June Spencer was second with her 1960 Dodge and Rusty Locklar came in third with a 1968 International. 1900 – 1972 Custom Truck was won by Eddie and Louise Simmons with their 1963 C-10 Panel truck. Second was Ian Reynolds with a 1923 Ford and third place was won by Barry Kennedy and his 1931 Studebaker. 1973 – Current Classic Trucks was won by Steve Brooks and a 1978 El Camino, followed by Ronny Killgore and a 1971 El Camino. George Babble was third in that group with his 1984 Ford Ranger. 1973 – Current Custom Trucks was led by Freddy Newman with his 2015 Jeep Wrangler. Claudia Brooks was second with a 1989 Chevy Z71 and Daniel Barton was third, also with a Chevrolet, a 1996 S-10. In the Everything Goes category, Lee Phillips won with a 1967 Ural motorcycle. The Peoples’ Choice winners were in Cars Thomas Ray and his 1969 Camaro followed by Whitt Floyd and his 2008 Mustang. The truck winner in the Peoples Choice group was Eddie Simmons with a 1963 Chevrolet C-10 Panel. He was followed by June Spencer and her 1906 Dodge D10. Overall Best of Show went to L. B. Peveyhouse and his 1957 Belair while Barry Kennedy and his 1931 Studebaker was Best Overall in the truck division.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.