Leighanne Sanders

Elba High School senior Leighanne Sanders won the Class 1A Bryant-Jordan Student-Achievement Award, which was announced Monday night, April 13, during the 35th annual Bryant-Jordan Student Athlete Awards Program. This year’s program was televised due to the COVID-19 concerns in the state, but it was an exciting night regardless for Elba as Sanders was named the Class 1A Achievement Award winner. Sanders recently was named the Class 1A Region 2 achievement winner for the award, and she received a $3,000 scholarship for that honor. Upon being announced the Class 1A achievement winner Monday night, Sanders received an additional $3,500 scholarship. “We here at Elba City Schools are very proud of Leighanne Sanders on being named the Class 1A Bryant-Jordan Achievement winner,” Elba City Schools superintendent Chris Moseley said. “This was a great honor for Leighanne and for our school system. She is a very deserving young lady.” Monday night, a total of 104 high school regional senior honorees were recognized and awarded more than $380,000 in scholarships. The scholarship program, named in honor of the late coaches Paul “Bear” Bryant of Alabama and Ralph “Shug” Jordan of Auburn, recognized 52 regional scholar-athlete winners selected for their excellence in athletics and academics and 52 achievement winners chosen for their ability to overcome major obstacles during their high school careers. The complete list of regional winners honored Monday night were: 2020 Overall Bryant-Jordan Winners Larry Striplin Scholar-Athlete of the Year Recipient Ben Williams, Phil Campbell High School Ken and Betty Joy Blankenship Student-Achievement Award Recipient (co-winners) Karmyn Sparks, Pleasant Valley High School Hayden Holton, Elmore County High School BRYANT-JORDAN SCHOLAR-ATHLETE CLASS WINNERS Class 1A: Alli Temple, Phillips High School Class 2A: Derek Warren II, Samson High School Class 3A: Ben Williams, Phil Campbell High School Class 4A: Josiah Green, Cherokee County High School Class 5A: Joseph Perrella, Beauregard High School Class 6A: Isaac Stubbs, Wetumpka High School Class 7A: Ashley Sinclair-Curtis, Enterprise High School BRYANT-JORDAN STUDENT-ACHIEVEMENT CLASS WINNERS Class 1A: Leighanne Sanders, Elba High School Class 2A: Journey Sutton, Hatton High School Class 3A: Karmyn Sparks, Pleasant Valley High School Class 4A: Hayden Holton, Elmore County High School Class 5A: Kennedy Cobb, Hamilton High School Class 6A: Haylee Hunter, Benjamin Russell High School Class 7A: Cooper Tullo, Hoover High School   2020 Bryant-Jordan Special Scholarships Herman L. “Bubba” Scott Coaching Scholarship Aaron Salter, Oak Grove High School Dr. Gaylon McCollough Medical Scholarships Lillie Yazdi, Daphne High School Cage Cochran, Fyffe High School Alabama “A” Club Educational & Charitable Foundation Scholarships Jordan Tidwell, Brooks High School (Achievement category) Fallon Haley, Muscle Shoals High School (Scholar-Athlete category) Auburn Football Lettermen Club Scholarships: Jake Robinson, Smiths Station High School (Achievement category) Ashley-Sinclair Curtis, Enterprise High School (Scholar-Athlete category) United Methodist Children’s Home Scholarships Karmyn Sparks, Pleasant Valley High School Juan Sheffield, Cullman High School

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.